Skip to content
8 min readUpdated

Best bank statement converters in 2026: 8 tools compared

For a statement now and then, Statement Converter AI is the cheapest complete option: $0.20 a page with no subscription, scans included, and Excel, CSV, QBO or OFX out. For steady monthly volume a plan wins — DocuClipper for firms that need team seats and accounting formats, Bank Statement Converter for cheap Excel-only pages, ProperConvert or MoneyThumb for unlimited or per-statement desktop work. Tabula is free for clean, text-based PDFs. We make Statement Converter AI; every other price below was read on the vendor’s own page on 15 October 2026.

The 8 tools side by side

  • Statement Converter AI

    Price:
    $0.20 a page, $3.90 minimum per batch; no subscription
    Free:
    First 3 pages of your first upload, no account
    Output:
    Excel, CSV, QBO, OFX — also QIF, Tally XML, MT940, JSON, Quicken, YNAB, Monarch, Actual and Copilot CSVs
    Scans:
    Yes — scans and phone photos
    Best for:
    Occasional or uneven volume; files for QuickBooks, Quicken, Xero or a budgeting app
  • DocuClipper

    Price:
    Starter $20.30/month for 60 pages, Business $111.30 for 640, Enterprise $279.30 for 1,800 — billed annually, which they say saves 30% against monthly billing
    Free:
    14-day trial, up to 120 pages, no card
    Output:
    Excel, CSV, QBO, OFX — also QFX, QIF, IIF
    Scans:
    Yes (OCR)
    Best for:
    Firms with steady monthly volume, several people, and invoices or receipts as well
  • Bank Statement Converter

    Price:
    Starter $15/month for 400 pages, Professional $30 for 1,000, Business $50 for 4,000
    Free:
    1 page every 24 hours without an account, 5 after registering
    Output:
    Excel (XLS); no QBO or OFX
    Scans:
    Not stated
    Best for:
    Hundreds of pages a month where an Excel sheet is the end result
  • MoneyThumb

    Price:
    Online: $24.95/month for 5 statements, $49.95 for 20, $99.95 for 60; an annual plan saves 33%
    Free:
    No free plan listed on the pricing pages
    Output:
    Excel (XLS), CSV, QBO, OFX — also QFX, QIF
    Scans:
    Yes online; on the desktop apps through the PDF+ AddOn ($199.95/year, Windows only)
    Best for:
    Bookkeepers and lenders who think in statements rather than pages
  • ProperConvert

    Price:
    $19.99/month or $179.99/year per user, unlimited pages
    Free:
    Free trial from the download page
    Output:
    Excel, CSV, QBO, OFX — also QFX, QIF, IIF
    Scans:
    Yes — text-based and scanned PDFs
    Best for:
    Heavy volume, offline work and QuickBooks Desktop IIF
  • Adobe Acrobat

    Price:
    Standard $14.99/month, Pro $19.99/month on an annual plan; month to month $24.99 and $29.99
    Free:
    Free trial of Acrobat Pro
    Output:
    Excel (page layout); no CSV, QBO or OFX
    Scans:
    Pro turns scans into editable PDFs; Standard does not list it
    Best for:
    People who already pay for Acrobat and want the page in Excel as it looks
  • Tabula

    Price:
    Free
    Free:
    Everything
    Output:
    CSV, Excel — also TSV, JSON; no QBO or OFX
    Scans:
    No — text-based PDFs only
    Best for:
    A one-off table from a clean, text-based PDF
  • Parseur

    Price:
    Micro $49/month for 100 pages, Mini $89 for 300, Starter $129 for 1,000 (annual billing is lower)
    Free:
    20 pages a month
    Output:
    Excel, CSV — also JSON, Google Sheets, webhooks; no QBO or OFX
    Scans:
    Yes (OCR)
    Best for:
    Statements that arrive by email and feed an automated workflow

Prices in US dollars, read on each vendor’s own page on 15 October 2026: DocuClipper, Bank Statement Converter, MoneyThumb, ProperConvert, Adobe Acrobat, Tabula, Parseur. “Not stated” means the vendor’s page does not say. Prices and limits change.

Each tool in short

Statement Converter AI

Browser, pay per page

Our converter. You upload a statement PDF, a scan or a photo, check the free pages, pick a format and download the file. There are no accounts; the result link is emailed when you pay.

Good: Nothing to install or subscribe to, and one statement costs $3.90 rather than a month of a plan. Card statements come out with purchases negative and payments positive, so they do not import as income.

Watch out: Above a few hundred pages a month it costs more than the plans below — 640 pages is $128 against $111.30 on DocuClipper Business, and ProperConvert is unlimited. Files are read in the cloud (deleted once converted), there are no team seats, no public API and no direct sync into QuickBooks or Xero: you import the file. Statements only — no invoices or receipts.

Convert a statement

DocuClipper

Web app for accounting firms

A subscription web app that reads bank, card and brokerage statements, invoices, receipts and checks, with direct sync to QuickBooks, Xero and Sage.

Good: Team seats, integrations and a per-page price that drops at volume. Every plan exports all the accounting formats.

Watch out: You pay for the allowance whether you use it or not: on monthly billing unused pages do not carry to the next month (annual billing gives the year’s pages upfront). Plans start at 60 pages, more than one statement needs.

DocuClipper alternatives and head-to-head

Bank Statement Converter

Web, monthly plans (bankstatementconverter.com)

A simple web converter from statement PDF to Excel, with a small daily free allowance and cheap monthly page plans.

Good: The lowest price per page here at volume: 400 pages for $15 is under 4 cents a page.

Watch out: Excel only, so a QuickBooks, Quicken or Xero import needs another step, and the site does not say whether it reads scans.

Bank Statement Converter alternative

MoneyThumb

Online converters and Windows/Mac software

A long-standing maker of statement converters for QuickBooks, Quicken and spreadsheets, sold as online subscriptions and as desktop licences.

Good: Priced per statement, not per page, so long statements cost the same as short ones, and unused conversions roll over when the subscription renews.

Watch out: At $5 a statement on the smallest plan, short statements cost more than paying per page, and scan reading on the desktop apps is a separate Windows-only subscription.

MoneyThumb alternative

ProperConvert

Desktop software by ProperSoft

A Windows and Mac app that converts statement PDFs and converts between finance file formats, entirely on your computer.

Good: Unlimited pages for a flat price, and files never leave your machine.

Watch out: An install and a subscription per user or device, which is a lot for a statement now and then.

ProperConvert alternative

Adobe Acrobat

PDF editor with an Excel export

Acrobat exports any PDF to an Excel workbook. It copies the layout of the page rather than reading transactions.

Good: Already on many computers, and handles every kind of PDF, not only statements.

Watch out: Wrapped descriptions, page headers and split columns usually need cleaning by hand, and there is no accounting format.

Acrobat alternatives and head-to-headAdobe Acrobat alternatives

Tabula

Free, open-source table extractor

A desktop app for Windows, Mac and Linux (Java) where you draw a box around each table and export it.

Good: Free, and files stay on your computer.

Watch out: You select tables page by page, wrapped descriptions become extra rows, and it cannot read scans.

Tabula alternatives and head-to-headTabula alternatives

Parseur

Document parsing platform

A general parser for emails and documents with AI and template engines, Zapier, Make, Power Automate and an API.

Good: A real free tier and good automation once documents arrive on their own.

Watch out: Built for workflows rather than one-off conversions, and its outputs are data formats, not accounting imports.

How we tested

Two different things, and we keep them apart. The other seven tools are described from their own pricing and product pages, read on 15 October 2026; we did not run their converters on our files, so this page makes no accuracy claim about them. Statement Converter AI was run on ten statements we wrote to reproduce layouts that trip converters up, rendered to PDF and read by the same code the site runs. Rows are counted in the downloaded files.

  • US credit card: unsigned purchases, a refund, a foreign-currency line, December into January

    Usually goes wrong: Purchases imported as income; January dated in the old year

    Result: 8 of 8 rows right

  • UK credit card with CR credits and a chargeback

    Usually goes wrong: A credit read as one more purchase

    Result: 7 of 7 rows right

  • Phone photo of a card statement, tilted JPEG

    Usually goes wrong: Rejected as unreadable, or digits misread

    Result: 8 of 8 rows right

  • Checking account with Withdrawals and Deposits columns, descriptions over 2–3 lines

    Usually goes wrong: Continuation lines as extra rows, amounts shifted a row

    Result: 5 of 5 rows right

  • Amounts in brackets (1,234.56) and with a trailing minus 45.10-

    Usually goes wrong: Money out turned positive

    Result: 5 of 5 rows right

  • Polish 1 234,56 and German 1.234,56, ambiguous DD/MM dates

    Usually goes wrong: 1234.56 read as 1.23, day and month swapped

    Result: 8 of 8 rows right

  • 55-page statement, read in six parts

    Usually goes wrong: Rows lost or repeated where the parts meet

    Result: 495 of 495 rows, in order, none repeated

  • Summary and advert pages with no transactions

    Usually goes wrong: Totals or advertised prices invented as transactions

    Result: No invented rows

  • Description cut by a page break

    Usually goes wrong: The second half glued to the next transaction

    Result: Joined back onto its own row

  • Scanned, image-only PDF

    Usually goes wrong: Rejected, or numbers misread

    Result: 5 of 5 rows right

Last run . A real statement can still hold a layout none of these cover — whichever tool you pick, try one of your own statements on the free pages or trial first.

How to choose

  • Start from the file your software imports

    QuickBooks Online wants QBO, Quicken wants QFX or QIF, Xero reads CSV or OFX, and budgeting apps each have their own CSV. Acrobat, Tabula, Bank Statement Converter and Parseur stop at spreadsheets and data files; see QIF vs OFX vs QBO.

  • Then by volume

    Against DocuClipper’s listed plans, paying $0.20 a page is cheaper at 60 pages a month ($12 against $20.30) and dearer at 640 ($128 against $111.30); at heavy volume ProperConvert’s unlimited licence beats both. If Excel is all you need, Bank Statement Converter is cheapest per page at any steady volume.

  • No subscription at all?

    Of the eight, only Statement Converter AI (paid once per batch, first 3 pages free) and Tabula (free, text PDFs only) need no plan. The no-subscription guide adds Camelot and Excel Power Query and shows what a statement costs on each.

  • Then by where the file may go

    ProperConvert, Tabula and MoneyThumb’s desktop apps keep files on your computer. Web tools upload them; ours deletes the upload once it has been read.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best bank statement PDF to Excel converter?

For a statement now and then, Statement Converter AI: one row per transaction in Excel, scans included, $0.20 a page with the first 3 pages free and no subscription. For hundreds of pages a month, Bank Statement Converter ($15 for 400 pages, Excel only) or DocuClipper (from $20.30 a month for 60 pages, billed annually, with accounting formats). Prices checked 15 October 2026.

Is there a free bank statement to Excel converter online?

Yes, within limits: Statement Converter AI converts the first 3 pages of your first upload free, Bank Statement Converter gives 1 page a day (5 after registering), and Parseur has 20 pages a month. Tabula is fully free but runs on your computer and cannot read scans.

What is a good alternative to DocuClipper?

Statement Converter AI if you convert statements now and then and want to pay per page with no subscription; ProperConvert if you want unlimited pages offline; MoneyThumb if you would rather pay per statement. DocuClipper stays the better fit for firms that need team seats and invoices as well.

How do I convert a scanned bank statement PDF to Excel?

Use a converter that reads images: Statement Converter AI, DocuClipper, MoneyThumb online, ProperConvert and Parseur all list scanned statements. Tabula cannot read them, and Acrobat needs the Pro plan to turn a scan into text first.

Which is the best bank statement converter to QuickBooks or Xero?

One that writes QBO for QuickBooks and CSV or OFX for Xero: Statement Converter AI, DocuClipper, MoneyThumb and ProperConvert all do. DocuClipper also syncs straight into QuickBooks and Xero; the others give you a file to import.

What is the best Tabula alternative for bank statements?

Statement Converter AI reads every page, scans included, and returns one row per transaction in CSV, Excel, QBO, QIF or OFX without selecting tables. If files must stay on your computer, ProperConvert also reads scans ($19.99 a month, unlimited pages).

Is there a pay per page bank statement converter without subscription?

Statement Converter AI charges $0.20 a page with a $3.90 minimum per batch, paid once per batch with no subscription and no account. Every other tool in this comparison is a monthly or yearly plan, except Tabula, which is free. The no-subscription options are compared in their own guide.

Which AI bank statement converter is accurate?

Test with your own statement before paying. On ten statements we built to break converters — card statements, debit and credit columns, brackets, European numbers, a phone photo, a scan, 55 pages — Statement Converter AI got every row right; the table on this page lists each case. We have not run the other tools on the same files.